EDTECH 513 Course Reflection

EDTECH 513 Multimedia was an enriching experience.  I found it satisfying in gaining knowledge on how effective multimedia presentations are created.  Prior to the course, I had used images, callouts, and narrations in presentations but without a clear understanding as to how it supports or detracts learning.  Much of this was the result of not being aware of the cognitive theory of multimedia learning and principles mentioned in ELSI.  By being aware of the theory and principles, I learned that the choices we make affect how information is received, processed and understood.  As a result of the course, I’ve learned to design instructional materials which will avoid cognitive overload and make choices that are more effective for learning and supported through research and evidence.

I plan to regularly use all the principles from this course but especially the multimedia principle and the contiguity principles.  Images are a great way to explain concepts in reading comprehension, but unfortunately, the textbooks that I use do not have them.  As a result, I recreate passages from a book into a document editing software to add images, charts, and notes.  The main difference now is that I’ve become conscientious in selecting the images and placing them in relation to the text.  I will also regularly add labels and arrows to improve the effectiveness of the image in conveying a message.

Among the projects that we worked on, I really enjoyed the digital storytelling because it utilized variety of multimedia tools and principles to create a story from a personal experience.  It’s a project that I’d like my students to work on.  I can picture them benefiting a lot by watching examples and creating their own stories.  I thought that analyzing a story prior to making a story was very effective to begin the planning and understanding of a digital story.  It would also be good way for them to practice their writing and critical thinking skills.  One concern I have is that it may be too much information within a limited time frame, and so I may need to further consider alternative methods for segmenting and pretraining.

Reflecting on this course, media is a method for communicating content, and this course utilized multiple forms of communications using different tools.  The first project used textual and graphical information using a presentation tool.  The second project used recording tools to produce an audio communication.  The third project (digital storytelling) encompassed the first two in the creation of a video.

Leave a Reply

